The Forgotten Child

 July 11, 2015

By  Lorhainne Eckhart

The Forgotten Child

'Over 500,000 copies sold worldwide. Now translated into German & French'


The Forgotten Child is the first book in The Outsider Series and introduces the oldest brother Brad of The Friessen family. In the upcoming books you will meet all the family, Jed, Neil, Andy, and of course Brad's parents Rodney and Becky. Included in this edition is the free novella A BABY AND A WEDDING

Order Now!
About the Book



—“This is by far one of the best books I have read. Lorhainne Eckhart proved herself yet again by pulling you in with a heartfelt story and keeping your attention with the passion that fills the pages.” ROMANCE JUNKIES

—“A Real Tear Jerker: Omg, I loved this book. I stayed up all night trying to finish it. I cried, My heart broke, I have an 18 year old with autism. This would make a fabulous movie.” Reviewer – Tammy

— “Brilliant, there is no other word for it, heart grabbing, heart warming, gut wrenching, well written well researched, wanted to read it over & over again.”Maureen

BLACK RAVEN’S REVIEWS “Ms. Eckhart has crafted a delightful story with engaging characters, enough drama for a Hallmark movie, and enough unconditional love to last a lifetime.”—Rated 5 Ravens and a Recommended Read by AJ!—

In THE FORGOTTEN CHILD, Brad Friessen wasn’t looking to love again. But what he got was a woman who shook his lonely bitter world upside down, and touched him in a way no other woman could.

Emily Nelson, ends a loveless, bitter marriage and strikes out on her own. She answers an ad as a cook and live-in caregiver to a three-year-old boy on a local ranch. Ranch owner Brad Friessen hires and moves in Emily and her daughter. But Emily soon discovers something’s seriously wrong with the boy, and the reclusive, difficult man who hired her can’t see the behavior and how delayed his son is. Emily researches until she stumbles across what she suspects are the soft signs of autism. Now she must tell him, give him hope, and help him come to terms with this neurological disorder–to take the necessary steps to get his child the help he needs.

As their lives become intertwined, their attraction is unavoidable–a connection sparks between them. But just as they’re getting close, Brad’s estranged wife, Crystal, returns after abandoning the family two years earlier.

Crystal must’ve had a plan, as she somehow gains the upper hand, driving a wedge in the emotional bond forged between Brad, Emily, and the children. The lengths to which Crystal will go, the lies, the greed, just to keep what’s hers, are nothing short of cold and calculating.  Brad fights to save his boy, to protect what’s his, and struggles over his greatest sacrifice–Emily, and the haunting question: Has he lost her forever.

The Forgotten Child is the first book in The Outsider Series, the beginning of this romantic family saga of the Friessen men and the women they love, which now spans three series.  The Forgotten Child is a love story between the oldest of the Friessen brother’s Brad and Emily, a woman he hires to take care of his autistic child.

 Read THE OUTSIDER SERIES in order now spanning three series: 

  • The Forgotten Child (Brad & Emily)
  • A Baby And A Wedding (Free Novella)
  • Fallen Hero (Andy, Jed & Diana)
  • The Search (Free Novella)
  • The Awakening (Andy & Laura)
  • Secrets (Jed & Diana)
  • Runaway (Andy & Laura)
  • Overdue (An Outsider Series Short)
  • The Unexpected Storm (Neil & Candy)
  • The Wedding (Neil, Candy & The Friessen Family)

 The Friessens: A New Beginning

  • The Deadline (Andy and Laura)
  • The Price to Love (Neil and Candy)
  • A Different Kind of Love (Brad and Emily)
  • A Vow of Love, A Friessen Family Christmas

The Friessens

  • The Reunion
  • The Bloodline (Andy & Laura)
  • The Promise (Diana & Jed)
  • The Business Plan (Neil & Candy)
  • The Decision (Brad & Emily)
  • First Love (Katy)
  • Family First
  • Leave the Light On

Don’t miss the new spinoff series coming January 2017 – The McCabe Brothers


Series: The Outsider Series, Book 1
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Sagas, Western Romance, Women's Fiction
Tags: contemporary romance, sagas, western romance
ISBN: 9781928085010
Sign up for Updates
Book Club Resources
{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}